New Mayor of Tehran Elected

Tehran, Nov 13, IRNA – Tehran’s Islamic City Council elected Mr. Pirooz Hanachi as the new Mayor of the Iranian capital city.

Winning 11 out of 21 votes on Tuesday’s election, Hanachi is the third mayor elected by the current Islamic City Council of Tehran, and the 18th after the Islamic Revolution in 1979. Hanachi’s predecessors were Mohammad-Ali Afshani and Mohammad-Ali Najafi.
Mr. Abbas Akhoundi, former Minister of Roads and Urban Development, who gained 10 votes, was the other candidate at the mayoral race.
The elected Mayor of Tehran, 54, was the Deputy Mayor for technical and construction affairs under Najafi’s office. Then he was moved to the urban development and architecture department of Tehran Municipality.
A graduate of the University of Tehran, the new Mayor had also been in senior positions at Iran’s Ministry of Roads and Urban Development.
Hanachi should obtain the ratification of Iran’s Interior Ministry to officially take the post.
Former Mayor of Tehran Mohammad Ali Afshani had to leave his post due to a new law recently passed by the Iranian Majlis (Parliament), according to which all the government retirees are forbidden from taking on new state responsibilities.  UN-Habitat Office in Tehran congratulates Mr. Pirooz Hanachi, who had a very positive collaboration with UN-Habitat during his service in the Ministry of Roads and Urban Development, and Tehran Municipality. UN-Habitat wishes him success in his new challenging mission and looks forward to even closer collaboration with Tehran Municipality in the coming years.



حوزه های کاری